Sign In

Remember Me

Awards and Nomination Process

Submit Your Nominations for Lifetime Achievement Awards and Student Excellence Awards!

The nomination due date has been extended until October 15, 2017.

Our Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented during our awards luncheon on November 30 to individuals who have made a significant contribution to fire ecology and management in the United States and who have inspired and mentored a generation of fire ecologists. Their contributions may be in research, management, teaching, service, outreach, or a combination of these areas. The Biswell Award honors those whose work was primarily in the western U.S., the Stoddard Award goes to individuals from the eastern U.S., and the Wright Award goes to individuals who focused on grassland and shrubland ecosystems. Candidates outside the US who work in similar ecosystems as found in the western and eastern United States may be nominated for those awards, as may those who work in grasslands and shrubs for the Wright Award.

The SAFE Student Excellence Awards go to a graduate and undergraduate student who demonstrate great service and potential as a professional in the field of fire ecology.

Nomination Process:  See AFE’s nomination process webpage for information on criteria for awards nominations and how to nominate someone. You can also view our distinguished lifetime achievement winners and our previous student excellence winners.

The Mike da Luz Memorial Student Travel Scholarship will also be awarded.  You may contribute to this scholarship fund through donating to the student travel fund when you register for the conference, or by donating directly at the above link.  You can see last year’s scholarship winner here. Information regarding how to apply for this scholarship will be posted soon.